The Union has elected delegates and occupational health and safety representatives to be its frontline presence in workplaces. We thank you all. Delegates provide leadership and represent members on industrial issues. OH&S representatives monitor the workplace for health and safety hazards and enforce safety standards and, in doing so, improve safety standards. Delegates and OH&S representatives receive formal TWU training to assist them in these crucial roles. TWU organisers (see below) and officials are elected by the rank-and-file membership every four years. Each official has a specific role to play and each organiser services a particular region and/or industry and are on-call to assist with issues that cannot be resolved by a workplace delegate.The TWU Branch Secretary is responsible for all industrial and non-industrial services. The secretary works under the guidance of the Branch Committee of Management (BCOM). BCOM, also elected every four years and primarily populated by grassroots members, is responsible for all Branch activities.

The 2019 Branch Committee of Management

  • President: James Hughes (Ventura)
  • Vice-president: John Rowe (Toll IPEC/Road)
  • Branch Trustee: Dissio Markos (TWU)
  • Branch Trustee: Kevin Whelan (TNT)
  • Branch Secretary: John Berger
  • Branch Assistant Secretary: Chris Fennell
  • Clive Dennis (Startrack)
  • Darren McColley (Toll Tasmania)
  • Kevin Hoey (TNT)
  • Mike McNess (TWU)
  • Graeme Grant (Toll Tasmania)
  • Ian Munro (Calleja Transport)
  • Anne McDowell (Transdev)
  • Mandeep Singh Bains (Linfox – Woolworths)
  • Mary Blandford (Dnata)
  • Dean Sloan ( Q Catering)

TWU (Vic/Tas Branch)

  • Senior organiser (bus) – Mike McNess
  • Chief of Staff Mem Suleyman
  • Peter Banbury
  • Daryl Coghill
  • Wayne Commerford
  • Greg Fleming
  • Bob Lean
  • Imran Malik
  • Peter Mancuso
  • Dissio Markos (Aviation)
  • Steve Moszko (Northern Tasmania)
  • George Pavlou
  • Rhys Rogers
  • Billy McLeod
  • Nellie Metcalfe (Southern Tasmania)

Lead Industrial Delegate:

  • Alan MacGill


  • Nellie Metcalfe – 0475 055 414; nmetcalfe@twu.asn.au

Branch Affiliations

The TWU (Vic/Tas Branch) holds affiliations with the Victorian Trades Hall Council and the Victorian and Tasmanian Branches of the Australian Labor Party. We are also constantly on the road to maintain strong relationships with the Ballarat Trades Hall, Bendigo Trades Hall Council, Geelong Trades Hall Council, Gippsland Trades & Labour Council, Goulburn TLC, North East and Border TLC, South West TLC and the Sunraysia Trades and Labour Council.